Active Ashburton Sports Award Success and nominations for Pilbara Regional Awards announced

Published on Wednesday, 17 November 2021 at 9:37:29 AM

On the back of a successful Active Ashburton Sports Awards, the Shire of Ashburton is pleased to announce the five individuals and one sporting group that have been nominated to represent the Shire at the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries Pilbara Regional Awards.

The Active Ashburton Sports Awards took place in early November in Tom Price, Paraburdoo and Pannawonica and recognised the achievements of the sporting community within each town.

Each town hosted Brad Sheppard and Andrew Gaff from the West Coast Eagles who took part in a kick to kick with the kids before presenting winners with their awards.

After winning their nominated category within their own town at the Active Ashburton Sports Awards, Shire representatives for the regional awards were selected by a panel of judges, including Shire of Ashburton Club Development Officer Bob Shanks.

Congratulations to:

  • Robert Wright – Excellence in Leadership nominee
  • Moya Pirini – Service to Sport nominee
  • Tracey Rogers – Club Volunteer of the Year nominee
  • Paraburdoo Amateur Swimming Club – Sporting Group of the Year nominee
  • Maya Walsh – Junior Sportsperson of the Year nominee
  • Marama Rawiri – Sportsperson of the Year nominee

The above individuals and team will represent the Shire of Ashburton at the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries Pilbara Regional Awards on Friday, November 19.

Shire President Kerry White congratulated all the winners of the Sports Awards and gave her best wishes to the Shire of Ashburton Regional Representatives.

“The Shire of Ashburton is lucky to have an array of dedicated community members who participate, volunteer, support and take part in our sporting events and the Active Ashburton Sports Awards are a great opportunity to recognise those efforts,” said Councillor White.

“Council congratulates the winners in all towns, and I encourage residents to get behind our Shire representatives this Friday at the regional awards.”

For a full list of winners, visit



For media information contact:                                                                                                                         

Alison Lennon, Manager Media and Communications  M: 0409 314 140 | E: [email protected]

Back to All News