New Shire of Ashburton Councillors sworn in

Published on Wednesday, 20 October 2021 at 6:49:46 AM

Newly elected members to the Shire of Ashburton Council have been sworn in following the weekend’s Local Government Elections.

For the position of Councillor Paraburdoo, Alana Sullivan was elected with 96 votes and will serve a term of four years.

For the position of Councillor Tom Price, Audra Smith and Tina Mladenovic were elected with 235 and 223 votes respectively with Matthew Lynch re-elected with 234 votes.

Cr Smith and Cr Lynch will serve a four-year term with Cr Mladenovic to serve a two year term filling a vacant position on Council.

Cr Gallanagh was re-elected unopposed for the ward of Pannawonica and will serve a four-year term.

Acting Chief Executive Officer Nathan Cain congratulated the newly elected Councillors and acknowledged those who had put their hand up to run for Council.

“Running for Council demonstrates a commitment and a passion for shaping future direction of community”, said Mr Cain.

“Councillors play an integral role in representing the community, advocating for issues of community importance, and providing leadership and strategic direction for the future of our Shire.

Also at Tuesday’s meeting, Cr Kerry White was voted by the new Council to serve as Shire President for a further two-year term with Cr Lynch voted to serve as Deputy Council.

For 2021 Ordinary Election results, visit


For media information contact:

Alison Lennon, Manager Media and Communications

M: 0409 314 140 | E: [email protected]

Back to All News