Local Government Elections

Local government elections play an important role in our democratic system and are an excellent opportunity for people to contribute to, and be involved in their local community.

Elections are conducted in accordance Local Government Act 1995 and the Local Government (Election) Regulations 1996 and they are held every four years on the third Saturday in October.

2023 Ordinary Election Information 

The 2023 Shire of Ashburton Ordinary Local Government Election is scheduled for Saturday 21 October 2023. This election is being conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission and voting will be by the postal vote method. The timetable for this election can be found here: 2023 Election Timetable - Postal

Upcoming Important Dates

Close of Rolls:  5pm, 25 August 2023

Opening of Nominations: 31 August 2023

Close of Nominations:4pm, 7 September 2023


As a result of recent local government reform and subsequent changes to wards and district representation, the Council of the Shire of Ashburton will be made up of 8 Councillors (Elected Members) and a Shire President from the 2023 election. At this election there will be four Councillor vacancies (for 4 years terms), with one vacancy in each of the following Wards:

  • Onslow Ward
  • Paraburdoo Ward
  • Tom Price Ward
  • Ashburton-Tablelands Ward

There will also be a vacancy for the position of Shire President, with this position being popularly elected by electors, rather than by the historic practice of the Council electing this important role from amongst the Councillors.

Further information on Wards in the district can be found here; Page Centre - Wards