Local Government Ordinary Election Call for Nominations

Published on Monday, 26 August 2019 at 12:00:00 AM

An Ordinary Postal Election will be held on Saturday, 19 October 2019 in the Shire of Ashburton to fill the following vacancies;

Ashburton Ward - 1 Councillor

Onslow Ward - 1 Councillor

Paraburdoo Ward - 1 Councillor

Tableland Ward - 1 Councillor

Tom Price Ward - 1 Councillor

Nominations open on Thursday 5 September and close at 4pm 12 September.

Nominations Requirements Candidates are required to lodge with the Returning Officer:

  • a completed nomination in the prescribed form, signed and witnessed. (This form is available from the Returning Officer, the Western Australian Electoral Commission or the Shire of Ashburton;
  • a single A4 page profile containing not more than 150 words of information about the candidate;
  • a nomination deposit of $80 (cash, bank cheque or postal order);
  • a recent passport-sized photograph (optional);
  • every candidate must complete the online candidate induction module at www.dlgc.wa.gov.au

Information Full details about eligibility and nomination procedures for prospective candidates can be obtained by contacting the Returning Officer on 0427 878 765 or the Western Australian Electoral Commission on 13 63 06.