Local Government Extraordinary Election - call for nominations

Published on Monday, 5 September 2016 at 12:00:00 AM

An Extraordinary Postal Election will be held on Thursday, 20 October 2016 in the Shire of Ashburton to fill the following vacancies:

Tom Price Ward
2 Councillors
Terms to expire: 21 October 2017

NOMINATIONS OPEN on Tuesday, 6 September 2016.
NOMINATIONS CLOSE at 4.00pm on Tuesday, 13 September 2016.

Nominations must be lodged with the Returning Officer

  • at any time during the above period by arrangement; or
  • between 2:00pm and 4:00pm Tuesday, 13 September 2016 (close of nominations) at the Shire of Ashburton, Poinciana Street TOM PRICE WA 6751.


Candidates are required to lodge with the Returning Officer:

  • a completed nomination in the prescribed form, signed and witnessed. (This form is available from
  • the Returning Officer, the Western Australian Electoral Commission or the Shire of Ashburton);
  • a single A4 page profile containing not more than 150 words of information about the candidate;
  • a nomination deposit of $80 (cash, bank cheque or postal order); and
  • a recent passport-sized photograph (optional).

The Commission has developed an online system called Nomination Builder to assist candidates to complete their nomination form which includes the candidate profile. This is the preferred method of completing the nomination form and profile for elections conducted by the Commission. Candidates complete their nomination details and profile, print the completed form which has a reference number allocated and lodge it with the Returning Officer.

The nomination builder can be accessed at www.elections.wa.gov.au

Where an agent lodges a nomination on a candidate’s behalf, it must be in the prescribed form with a written authorisation signed by the candidate.

The documents may be hand delivered, posted or faxed to the Returning Officer and must be received by the close of nominations.


Full details about eligibility and nomination procedures for prospective candidates can be obtained by contacting the Returning Officer on 0439 934 519 or the Western Australian Electoral Commission on 13 63 06.