• Ashburton re-elects Cr White as Shire President

    Ashburton re-elects Cr White as Shire President

    The Shire of Ashburton Council has re-elected Cr Kerry White as Shire President unopposed, and Cr Doug Diver as Deputy, at Tuesday’s October Council meeting where all newly elected councillors were sworn in following the Local Government Elections on Saturday 19 October.

    Saturday’s election saw Cr Kerry White, Cr Peter Foster, Cr Linton Rumble and Cr Rory De Pledge all elected unopposed.  New Councillor Jamie Richardson now represents the Ashburton Ward after winning the seat from outgoing councillor Lorraine Thomas.

    The Shire President welcomed returning Councillors and congratulated Cr Richardson on being elected to Council.  Cr Kerry White also took the opportunity to acknowledge and thank Lorraine Thomas for her 24 years of dedicated service to the region, as well as Cr Linton Rumble for his support as Deputy for the past 12 years.

    “Council will continue to work hard together as we remain focused on achieving positive outcomes for the benefit of our towns and local communities,” Cr White said.



    More news articles