

Agenda

Annual General Electors Meeting Tuesday, 18 March 2025

Date: Tuesday 18 March 2025

Time: 4:00 PM

Location: Council Chambers, Onslow Shire Complex, Second

Avenue, Onslow

Distribution Date: Thursday 13 March 2025



Shire of Ashburton Annual General Electors Meeting

Please be advised an Annual General Electors Meeting will be held at 4:00 PM on Tuesday 18 March 2025 at Council Chambers, Onslow Shire Complex, Second Avenue, Onslow.

Dr Garry Hunt PSM

golyther A

Chief Executive Officer (Temporary)

13 March 2025

Disclaimer

The recommendations contained in the agenda are subject to confirmation by Council. The Shire of Ashburton warns anyone who has an application lodged with Council must obtain, and should only rely on, written confirmation of the outcomes of the application following the Council meeting, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by Council in respect of the application. No responsibility whatsoever is implied, or accepted, by the Shire of Ashburton for any act, omission, statement, or intimation occurring during a Council meeting.

Contents

1	Declaration of Opening			
	1.1	Acknowledgement of Country	6	
2	Attendance			
	2.1	Present	6	
	2.2	Apologies	6	
	2.3	Approved Leave of Absence	7	
3	Shire	Shire President's Report		
4	Receipt of the Annual Report			
5	General Business			
	5.1	Public Questions	7	
	5.2	Elector Motions	7	
6	Clos	Closure of Meeting		

Annual General Electors Meeting Procedures

An Annual General Electors meeting is held once every financial year to consider the contents of the annual report for the previous year, and consider other general business.

The Shire President presides at an Annual General Electors meeting. Where the Shire President is not available, the Deputy Shire President will preside.

The procedure to be followed at an Annual General Electors meeting is determined by the presiding member in accordance with regulation 18 of the *Local Government* (Administration) Regulations 1996. The following procedure has been determined for this meeting.

- 1. All members of the public present are required to sign the attendance register upon entry into Council Chambers, including name, address and email contact.
- 2. Speakers must be electors of the Shire of Ashburton.
- 3. The proceedings will be recorded (audio) for the purpose of production of the minutes, and speakers are requested to use the lectern microphone when speaking.
- 4. No other audio-visual recordings are to be undertaken without permission from the presiding member.
- 5. During general business, public questions and elector motions may only relate to matters that affect the local government and will be accepted at the discretion of the presiding member.

Public questions

Public questions must be submitted in writing prior to the meeting. Forms and guidance information are available on the Shire's website: Submit Public Questions

- 1. When asking a question, a speaker is to:
 - a. Move to the lectern (unless able to do so due to sickness or a disability);
 - b. State their name and address;
 - c. Ask the question through the presiding member.
- 2. Each speaker may ask up to three questions.

Elector motions

Proposed motions must be submitted no later than 24 hours prior to the meeting. Forms are available on the Shire's website: Submit Motion of Notice.

Any motion from the floor may be ruled out of order at the discretion of the presiding member.

- 1. The presiding member will call for a mover and seconder for a motion.
- 2. No motion is open to debate until it has been seconded. Only one motion shall be received at a time.
- 3. Upon a motion being proposed, the presiding member will call for speakers to address the meeting, speaking either for or against the motion.
- 4. When addressing the meeting, a speaker is to:
 - Move to the lectern (unless able to do so due to sickness or a disability);
 - b. State their name and address:

- c. Address the meeting through the presiding member. Each speaker may have up to five minutes to address the meeting;
- d. Limit the responses to fact, not opinion or supposition.
- 5. The mover of a motion has the right of reply and closes the debate.
- 6. Following the close of debate, the presiding member will call for a vote on the motion from the electors.
- 7. Each elector has one vote. An elector is not required to vote.
- 8. Voting is determined by a show of hands.
- 9. A simple majority carries the vote.

Decisions made at the meeting

The decisions of this meeting are not binding on the Shire of Ashburton Council. All decisions made at the meeting will be presented to Council for its consideration at the next practicable meeting.

Unconfirmed minutes of this meeting will be available on the Shire website as soon as practicable after the meeting. The minutes of this meeting will be formally confirmed at the next Ordinary Council Meeting.

1 Declaration of Opening

The Presiding Member declared the meeting open at enter time.

1.1 Acknowledgement of Country

As representatives of the Shire of Ashburton Council, we respectfully acknowledge the local Indigenous people, the traditional custodians of this land where we are meeting upon today and pay our respects to them and all their elders past, present and emerging.

2 Attendance

2.1 Present

Elected Members:	Cr A Smith	Shire President	
	Cr K White	Onslow Ward (Deputy Shire President)	
	Cr M Gallanagh	Pannawonica Ward	
	Cr L Rumble JP	Paraburdoo Ward	
	Cr B Healy	Tom Price Ward	
	Cr R Kapor	Tom Price Ward	
	Cr M Lynch	Tom Price Ward	
Employees:	Dr G Hunt PSM	Chief Executive Officer (Temporary)	
	J Sangster	Deputy Chief Executive Officer	
	C McGurk	Director Community Development	
	D Kennedy	Director Corporate Services	
	G Harris	Director Infrastructure Services	
	A Johnston	Manager Media and Communications	
	J Bray	Manager Governance	
	R Marlborough	Senior Governance Officer	
Members of Public:	There were enter number members of the public in attendance at the commencement of the meeting.		
Members of Media:	There were enter number members of the media in attendance at the commencement of the meeting.		

2.2 Apologies

To be informed at the meeting.

2.3 Approved Leave of Absence

Cr R de Pledge Ashburton-Tablelands Ward From 18 March 2025 to 18 March 2025 Cr A Sullivan Paraburdoo Ward From 18 March 2025 to 18 March 2025

3 Shire President's Report

4 Receipt of the Annual Report

The Shire of Ashburton 2023/2024 Annual Report was adopted by Council on 18 February 2025 and is available on the Shire's website.

Recommendation

The Shire of Ashburton 2023/2024 Annual Report inclusive of the 2023/2024 Audited Financial Statements and Auditor's Report, be received.

5 General Business

5.1 Public Questions

5.2 Elector Motions

6 Closure of Meeting

There being no further business, the Presiding Member closed the meeting at enter time.