• Local Sports Stars recognised

    Outstanding contributions to sport within Tom Price and Paraburdoo has been recognised at the recent Active Ashburton Sports Star Awards.  Presented by the Shire of Ashburton and Rio Tinto through the Community Infrastructure and Services Partnership, the awards nights are a highlight of the sporting calendar and well attended by local clubs and their members.

    This year’s Active Ashburton Sports Star awards also highlighted the tremendous effort given to nurture local talent, particularly youth, who have worked hard to compete at regional, state and national levels.   Recognition was also given to the Tom Price Netball Association who celebrated 35 years of active participation.

    Shire President Kerry White says it is important to recognise the contribution of our clubs and their members, who provide such a valuable contribution to our towns.

    “Sport plays such a significant role, not just in terms of health and well-being, but in developing friendships, which is essential to the social fabric of living in a remote regional town,” said Cr White “We have also had a number of athletes represent our towns in North West, State and National competitions, which is a great testament to our sporting clubs and the support they provide our communities.”   

    Rio Tinto superintendent Community Engagement Inland Shaun McLoughlin said the awards were a great way to acknowledge the commitment of locals.

    “It’s great to see people leading and developing sport to benefit the whole community and increase opportunities for people to come together and be part of something positive, while also increasing their health and fitness,” Shaun said.


    Paraburdoo winners:

    Junior Sports Star of the Year – Maddison Baker (Paraburdoo Amateur Swimming Club)

    Youth Sports Star of the Year – Jahmela Jones (Paraburdoo Teeball Club)

    Sportsman of the Year – Adam Gillespie (Saints AFC)

    Sportswoman of the Year – Ursula Koni (Paraburdoo Netball Assn)

    Club of the Year - Paraburdoo Amateur Swimming Club

    Club Volunteer of the Year - Kellie Reader (Paraburdoo Amateur Swimming Club)

    Coach of the Year - Joanne Cunningham (Paraburdoo Amateur Swimming Club)

    Tom Price winners:

    Junior Sports Star of the Year – Tobi Rushbrook (Tom Price BMX Club)

    Youth Sports Star of the Year – Jack Green (Tom Price Amateur Swimming Assn, AFL)

    Sportsman of the Year – Craig Jones (Crushers Cricket Club)

    Sportswoman of the Year – Renea Bateman (Tom Price Softball Assn, Tom Price Netball Assn)

    Club of the Year - Tom Price Netball Association

    Club Volunteer of the Year – Jody Goesch – (Tom Price Junior Netball)

    Coach of the Year – Phil Kerrison – (Tom Price BMX Club)

    AA sports star 2016

    AA Sport Star 2016

    More news articles